Nanoneedling
Also known as: nanoinfusion, nano infusion, nano exfoliation
Nanoneedling is a name used for surface-focused facial treatments using a pen with very small tips, usually alongside skincare products. Also called nanoinfusion, the service aims to exfoliate and improve skin appearance. The actual cartridge and its action on skin distinguish it from penetrating microneedling.
In plain English — This is a surface-focused facial treatment using a pen with tiny tips and selected skincare products. The aim is smoother-looking skin and a refreshed appearance. The tip, products and condition of the skin all matter when deciding whether it is suitable.
Evidence status
Limited
Manufacturer documents describe surface exfoliation with selected skincare, and a small published case series reports improvements in appearance and feel. Direct clinical evidence remains sparse and does not establish a reliable benefit for each device or ingredient combination. The actual cartridge, product instructions and condition of the skin guide safe selection.
What nanoneedling is, and the types available#
Nanoneedling, also called nanoinfusion or nano exfoliation, is used for pen-based surface treatments delivered with skincare. In its Pro NanoInfusion material, Dermalogica describes small stainless-steel cones intended to act without penetrating the skin. Its Pro Pen manual separately identifies Nano Metal and Nano Silicon cartridges alongside penetrating needle cartridges. These are descriptions of that manufacturer’s system, not a universal specification for every product using the word nano.[1, 2, 3]iNanoneedling/nanoinfusion is used for surface-focused pen treatments with small tips and selected skincare, aiming to exfoliate and improve appearance; manufacturer descriptions and actual cartridges must be distinguished from penetrating microneedling.Inferred from adjacent evidence[1] Dermalogica. Pro NanoInfusion trade brochure, revision marked 12–22. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[3] US Food and Drug Administration. Regulatory Considerations for Microneedling Products: Guidance for Industry and Food and Drug Administration Staff. 10 November 2020. Sections III–VII.Tier 1
The useful distinction is the action being performed. Surface exfoliation works on the outer stratum corneum; penetrating microneedling creates punctures in living skin. Identify the actual cartridge and intended use before classifying a service. The broader penetrating procedure is covered in the microneedling guide.[2]Dermalogica's Pro Pen manual distinguishes needle cartridges, a Nano Metal stainless-steel cone cartridge and a Nano Silicon cartridge; the pen body alone does not identify which service is being performed.Directly tested by the source[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Use of nanoneedling in aesthetic practice#
A surface service can be considered where the consultation concerns skin feel and appearance and the person is suitable for the planned exfoliation and topical products. It requires competence with the specific equipment, a product-compatibility assessment, appropriate hygiene and clear aftercare. The supplier’s training description must be checked against the practitioner’s actual local scope and insurance.[1, 2, 6]iSelection should establish the surface appearance goal, skin condition, relevant allergies and recent procedures, exact cartridge/material, compatible products and manufacturer instructions before proceeding.Inferred from adjacent evidence[1] Dermalogica. Pro NanoInfusion trade brochure, revision marked 12–22. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Device classification and permission to practise are different questions. FDA guidance gives a useful US distinction between superficial exfoliation and devices intended to affect living tissue. It is US guidance, not a UK licence.[3]iFDA guidance considers intended claims, penetration, sharpness and design, rather than specifying one numerical depth that universally makes a product cosmetic; US classification does not determine UK practitioner scope.Inferred from adjacent evidence[3] US Food and Drug Administration. Regulatory Considerations for Microneedling Products: Guidance for Industry and Food and Drug Administration Staff. 10 November 2020. Sections III–VII.Tier 1Product-delivery use is also outside the specific US aesthetic microneedling-device classification described there; a device’s status does not establish the safety of any chosen serum combination.[2, 3, 6]iTopical products should be selected for the intended service and skin condition; the US aesthetic microneedling-device classification excludes transdermal delivery of cosmetics, drugs or biologics. It does not establish safety of an arbitrary serum/device combination.Inferred from adjacent evidence[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[3] US Food and Drug Administration. Regulatory Considerations for Microneedling Products: Guidance for Industry and Food and Drug Administration Staff. 10 November 2020. Sections III–VII.Tier 1[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
UK orientation, checked on 16 September 2026:
- England: the August 2025 DHSC response describes licensing development and further work on procedure classification. It does not itself authorise a practitioner or settle every service called nanoneedling. Check applicable requirements for the actual service.[8]The August 2025 DHSC England response describes licensing development and further procedure-classification work; it does not itself grant a licence or settle nanoneedling's scope.Directly tested by the source[8] Department of Health and Social Care. The licensing of non-surgical cosmetic procedures in England: consultation response. 7 August 2025. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 1
- Scotland: S.S.I. 2026/87 includes procedures using microneedles to puncture skin to less than 1.5 mm, excluding RF delivery. Its licence is not required before 6 September 2027, with transitional arrangements and exclusions. A surface service must be assessed against the definition, not classified from its trade name.[9]iScottish S.S.I. 2026/87 includes non-RF microneedling puncturing skin below 1.5 mm and does not require its licence before 6 September 2027, with definitions, exclusions and transitional arrangements relevant to application. A nano trade name does not determine whether this definition is met.Inferred from adjacent evidence[9] Scottish Ministers. Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 (Licensing of Non-surgical Procedures) Order 2026. S.S.I. 2026/87, articles 3–6 and schedule 1 paragraph 6.Tier 1
- Wales: the current special-procedures scheme covers acupuncture, body piercing, electrolysis and tattooing. That document is not a general nanoneedling permission; confirm how the actual service is treated locally.[10]iThe current Welsh special-procedures scheme names four procedures and is not a general nanoneedling authorisation; the actual service requires separate checking.Inferred from adjacent evidence[10] Welsh Government. Licensing scheme for special procedures. Updated 30 July 2026. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 1
- Northern Ireland: the April 2026 ministerial answer reported no current plans for a broad non-surgical cosmetic licensing scheme in the remaining mandate. Existing obligations still need checking.[11]iThe April 2026 Northern Ireland ministerial answer concerns current plans for a broad scheme in the remaining mandate, not permission to disregard existing requirements.Inferred from adjacent evidence[11] Northern Ireland Assembly. AQW 41857/22–27, non-surgical aesthetic procedure licensing. Minister of Health answer, 1 April 2026.Tier 1
Contraindications and cautions#
The skin should be assessed before selecting the service and its products. Dermalogica’s named-system NanoInfusion guidance excludes active acne or rosacea/inflammatory disease, active eczema or psoriasis flares, local wounds/infection and relevant skin or metal allergy. It also identifies recent hair removal, injectables and excessive tanning/sunburn as reasons to defer within its service instructions. A superficially acting tip is not automatically appropriate for an inflamed or impaired skin barrier.[2, 6]Dermalogica's NanoInfusion training guidance excludes active inflammatory skin conditions, local wounds/infections and relevant metal/skin allergies, and directs pregnancy/nursing decisions to physician approval; restrictions are system-specific.Directly tested by the source[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
For pregnancy or nursing, the same manufacturer directs the decision to physician approval. This is a precaution in its guidance, not evidence establishing safety for every device or serum. Check the products as well as the equipment and use the current instructions for the actual system and market.[2, 6]Dermalogica's NanoInfusion training guidance excludes active inflammatory skin conditions, local wounds/infections and relevant metal/skin allergies, and directs pregnancy/nursing decisions to physician approval; restrictions are system-specific.Directly tested by the source[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Clinical uses and the evidence behind them#
Surface appearance and skin feel
The intended cosmetic role is refinement of the skin’s appearance alongside skincare chosen for the person’s concern. Manufacturer material describes texture, dullness and the appearance of fine lines as service goals. These goals are useful for framing the consultation; the clinical evidence needs its own description.[1, 2, 6]Manufacturers position surface nanoinfusion for the appearance of texture, dullness and fine lines alongside selected skincare; these are intended cosmetic goals, not an established class-wide response rate.Directly tested by the source[1] Dermalogica. Pro NanoInfusion trade brochure, revision marked 12–22. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
A small primary report by Brzozowska studied a facial nanoneedle-mesotherapy series in three people over 30 at a Polish cosmetology centre. The study was conducted between September and December 2018. Its publisher abstract reports improved appearance on visual and palpation assessment and customer satisfaction, but no improvement in measured hydration by corneometry. The author was affiliated with the treating centre; funding was not stated. The abstract does not establish the precise device, products or individual follow-up duration, so it cannot be treated as evidence for every contemporary surface cartridge.[4]Brzozowska's three-person facial case series in people over 30 reported improved visual/palpation appearance and satisfaction but no corneometric hydration improvement; study period September–December 2018, with individual follow-up, device and product details unavailable in the retrieved publisher abstract.Directly tested by the source[4] Brzozowska JM. Fractional nanoneedle mesotherapy as an alternative to fractional microneedle mesotherapy in skin face revitalization—own experience. Polish Journal of Cosmetology. 2020;23(1):62–69. Polish article with English publisher abstract.Tier 3
Use within a combined facial
Nanoinfusion is also incorporated into multi-component services. Dermalogica’s LuminFusion combines exfoliation, nanoinfusion and LED, and the manufacturer reports a small participant study with improved luminosity. See Commonly misstated claims for interpretation of the component-specific claim.[5, 6]iDermalogica reports a 30-participant combined LuminFusion service study with 29% luminosity improvement and 26% at seven days; the described service includes exfoliation, nanoinfusion and LED, so the page does not isolate the nanoinfusion tip's effect.Inferred from adjacent evidence[5] Dermalogica New Zealand. LuminFusion. Undated manufacturer service page. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
For consultation, the retrieved evidence supports describing reported cosmetic improvements without assigning a reliable responder rate or durable result to a particular tip-and-serum pairing. Where the actual goal is treating active disease, persistent pigmentation or acne scars, establish the condition and appropriate care pathway separately.[4, 5]iThe retrieved small case series and manufacturer's combined-service summary do not establish a dependable response rate for a particular surface cartridge or its added benefit over the same skincare without it.Inferred from adjacent evidence[4] Brzozowska JM. Fractional nanoneedle mesotherapy as an alternative to fractional microneedle mesotherapy in skin face revitalization—own experience. Polish Journal of Cosmetology. 2020;23(1):62–69. Polish article with English publisher abstract.Tier 3[5] Dermalogica New Zealand. LuminFusion. Undated manufacturer service page. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Selecting a nanoneedling service#
Selection starts with the desired cosmetic change and the skin’s present tolerance. Establish the full treatment being offered, including other exfoliants, masks, light treatments and the home-care plan, rather than considering the pen in isolation.[1, 2, 6]iSelection should establish the surface appearance goal, skin condition, relevant allergies and recent procedures, exact cartridge/material, compatible products and manufacturer instructions before proceeding.Inferred from adjacent evidence[1] Dermalogica. Pro NanoInfusion trade brochure, revision marked 12–22. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Record:
- The device, cartridge and material, and whether the manufacturer describes surface action or penetration.[2]Dermalogica's Pro Pen manual distinguishes needle cartridges, a Nano Metal stainless-steel cone cartridge and a Nano Silicon cartridge; the pen body alone does not identify which service is being performed.Directly tested by the source[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
- Current skin condition, product and metal allergies, medical concerns and recent procedures.[2, 6]Dermalogica's NanoInfusion training guidance excludes active inflammatory skin conditions, local wounds/infections and relevant metal/skin allergies, and directs pregnancy/nursing decisions to physician approval; restrictions are system-specific.Directly tested by the source[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
- The exact products intended for the service, with their instructions and compatibility.[2, 3, 6]iTopical products should be selected for the intended service and skin condition; the US aesthetic microneedling-device classification excludes transdermal delivery of cosmetics, drugs or biologics. It does not establish safety of an arbitrary serum/device combination.Inferred from adjacent evidence[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[3] US Food and Drug Administration. Regulatory Considerations for Microneedling Products: Guidance for Industry and Food and Drug Administration Staff. 10 November 2020. Sections III–VII.Tier 1[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
- The agreed appearance goal, review arrangements and signs that should prompt contact rather than further treatment.[6, 7]iGentle care, avoiding relevant irritants and following service-specific photoprotection/aftercare instructions are appropriate responses to superficial irritation; suspected adverse reactions should prompt stopping the exposure and review rather than further exfoliation.Inferred from adjacent evidence[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[7] NHS. Contact dermatitis. Reviewed 3 May 2023. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Use current supplier instructions for equipment care, permitted combinations and treatment parameters. A practical record of the cartridge, products and any skin reaction helps later review. No protocol or universal depth, pressure, number of passes or treatment interval is prescribed here.
Adverse effects and their management#
Surface irritationis the first practical concern. Dermalogica’s combined-service brochure lists inflammation, itching and burning as possible reactions.[6, 7]iThe manufacturer lists inflammation, itching and burning as possible reactions to its combined nanoinfusion service; cosmetics or metals can separately provoke contact dermatitis, and persistent/recurrent/severe symptoms need medical assessment.Inferred from adjacent evidence[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[7] NHS. Contact dermatitis. Reviewed 3 May 2023. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4If a reaction occurs, stop the provoking exposure and assess the skin before adding further exfoliation or actives. Gentle care and the service’s photoprotection instructions are appropriate parts of aftercare.[6, 7]iGentle care, avoiding relevant irritants and following service-specific photoprotection/aftercare instructions are appropriate responses to superficial irritation; suspected adverse reactions should prompt stopping the exposure and review rather than further exfoliation.Inferred from adjacent evidence[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[7] NHS. Contact dermatitis. Reviewed 3 May 2023. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
A contact reaction may relate to a product or material rather than to the treatment name. Cosmetics and some metals can cause contact dermatitis; itching, blistering, cracking or persistent inflammation need assessment. NHS guidance advises medical review for persistent, recurrent or severe symptoms. The manufacturer material does not provide a dependable complication frequency.[6, 7]iThe manufacturer lists inflammation, itching and burning as possible reactions to its combined nanoinfusion service; cosmetics or metals can separately provoke contact dermatitis, and persistent/recurrent/severe symptoms need medical assessment.Inferred from adjacent evidence[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[7] NHS. Contact dermatitis. Reviewed 3 May 2023. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Unexpected skin injury requires reassessment of the service and equipment. If the cartridge is actually puncturing living skin, the assessment and care need to reflect that penetrating procedure. It should not continue under the assumptions of a surface facial.[1, 2, 3]iThe described surface mechanism is mechanical interaction with the stratum corneum and exfoliation during topical-product application; exfoliation concerns outer non-living corneocytes, whereas penetrating living skin is a different action.Inferred from adjacent evidence[1] Dermalogica. Pro NanoInfusion trade brochure, revision marked 12–22. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[3] US Food and Drug Administration. Regulatory Considerations for Microneedling Products: Guidance for Industry and Food and Drug Administration Staff. 10 November 2020. Sections III–VII.Tier 1
Referral and scope boundaries#
Defer treatment where the skin finding needs diagnosis or a manufacturer’s exclusion applies. Active inflammatory disease, an unexplained lesion, a relevant allergy or a pregnancy-related suitability question may need medical input before proceeding.[2, 6]Dermalogica's NanoInfusion training guidance excludes active inflammatory skin conditions, local wounds/infections and relevant metal/skin allergies, and directs pregnancy/nursing decisions to physician approval; restrictions are system-specific.Directly tested by the source[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Persistent, recurrent or severe dermatitis should be referred for clinical assessment, and a person whose symptoms do not improve may need investigation of the trigger. Record the products and cartridge used so that the clinician can assess the exposure. A cosmetic improvement request and a disease-treatment request should be distinguished at consultation.[6, 7]iThe manufacturer lists inflammation, itching and burning as possible reactions to its combined nanoinfusion service; cosmetics or metals can separately provoke contact dermatitis, and persistent/recurrent/severe symptoms need medical assessment.Inferred from adjacent evidence[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[7] NHS. Contact dermatitis. Reviewed 3 May 2023. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Mechanism of action#
The described surface action is mechanical interaction with the outer skin during topical-product application. Exfoliation removes or loosens superficial non-living corneocytes; manufacturers use this as part of the rationale for a smoother appearance and altered product access to the surface. The material and geometry of the tip determine the actual contact, which is why a cartridge description is more informative than the pen’s appearance.[1, 2, 3]iThe described surface mechanism is mechanical interaction with the stratum corneum and exfoliation during topical-product application; exfoliation concerns outer non-living corneocytes, whereas penetrating living skin is a different action.Inferred from adjacent evidence[1] Dermalogica. Pro NanoInfusion trade brochure, revision marked 12–22. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[3] US Food and Drug Administration. Regulatory Considerations for Microneedling Products: Guidance for Industry and Food and Drug Administration Staff. 10 November 2020. Sections III–VII.Tier 1
Product absorption, when measured, is a separate outcome from visible improvement. Establishing it would require identifying the ingredient, formulation, amount delivered and skin layer measured; a hydration score or an after-treatment photograph does not supply those measurements.[4]Brzozowska's three-person facial case series in people over 30 reported improved visual/palpation appearance and satisfaction but no corneometric hydration improvement; study period September–December 2018, with individual follow-up, device and product details unavailable in the retrieved publisher abstract.Directly tested by the source[4] Brzozowska JM. Fractional nanoneedle mesotherapy as an alternative to fractional microneedle mesotherapy in skin face revitalization—own experience. Polish Journal of Cosmetology. 2020;23(1):62–69. Polish article with English publisher abstract.Tier 3
Commonly misstated claims#
A universal absorption percentage
Claim heard:“Nanoneedling gives 97% absorption,” or “makes every serum absorb 97% better.”
Literature finding: No primary human study supporting that general figure for surface nanoneedling was located. The searches included nanoneedling, nanoinfusion, nano needling and Rezenerate, with absorption and clinical-study terms. This is an unverified claim, not proof that no unpublished experiment exists.[no source found]A bounded search on 16 September 2026 did not identify a primary human study supporting a general 97% absorption or 97%-better-absorption claim for surface nanoneedling across skincare products.We looked and found no source either way
Supported statement: A numerical absorption claim needs a traceable experiment on the actual device, formulation and measured outcome; the general 97% figure could not be verified.
A combined-service result assigned to one component
Claim heard:“The nano tip alone increased luminosity by 29%.”
Literature finding:Dermalogica’s service page reports a 30-participant study with luminosity improvement of 29%, and 26% at seven days, for LuminFusion. The described service includes exfoliation, nanoinfusion and LED. The page supplies neither a tip-only comparison nor full methods, confidence intervals or detailed participant characteristics.[5, 6]iDermalogica reports a 30-participant combined LuminFusion service study with 29% luminosity improvement and 26% at seven days; the described service includes exfoliation, nanoinfusion and LED, so the page does not isolate the nanoinfusion tip's effect.Inferred from adjacent evidence[5] Dermalogica New Zealand. LuminFusion. Undated manufacturer service page. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Supported statement: Attribute those manufacturer-reported results to the combined service and stated follow-up, not to nanoinfusion alone or to long-term rejuvenation.
A number treated as universal scope permission
Claim heard:“Anything below 0.25 mm is automatically cosmetic and permitted.”
Literature finding:The FDA’s US guidance considers the intended claims and the product’s design, sharpness and ability to penetrate living tissue. It does not set that number as a universal exemption, and it does not determine UK practitioner permissions.[3]iFDA guidance considers intended claims, penetration, sharpness and design, rather than specifying one numerical depth that universally makes a product cosmetic; US classification does not determine UK practitioner scope.Inferred from adjacent evidence[3] US Food and Drug Administration. Regulatory Considerations for Microneedling Products: Guidance for Industry and Food and Drug Administration Staff. 10 November 2020. Sections III–VII.Tier 1
Supported statement: Scope follows the actual device, action, intended use and jurisdiction; a numerical setting alone does not settle it.
Areas of remaining uncertainty#
- Which observable outcome matters most to the individual: feel, appearance or measured hydration? Agree the goal beforehand and review that same goal afterwards.[4]Brzozowska's three-person facial case series in people over 30 reported improved visual/palpation appearance and satisfaction but no corneometric hydration improvement; study period September–December 2018, with individual follow-up, device and product details unavailable in the retrieved publisher abstract.Directly tested by the source[4] Brzozowska JM. Fractional nanoneedle mesotherapy as an alternative to fractional microneedle mesotherapy in skin face revitalization—own experience. Polish Journal of Cosmetology. 2020;23(1):62–69. Polish article with English publisher abstract.Tier 3
- Which part of a combined facial contributes to a perceived change? Record the full service and home-care exposures so later changes can be interpreted sensibly.[5, 6]iDermalogica reports a 30-participant combined LuminFusion service study with 29% luminosity improvement and 26% at seven days; the described service includes exfoliation, nanoinfusion and LED, so the page does not isolate the nanoinfusion tip's effect.Inferred from adjacent evidence[5] Dermalogica New Zealand. LuminFusion. Undated manufacturer service page. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
- How should treatment be adapted after an unexpected reaction? Reassess the skin and possible trigger before considering another session.[6, 7]iGentle care, avoiding relevant irritants and following service-specific photoprotection/aftercare instructions are appropriate responses to superficial irritation; suspected adverse reactions should prompt stopping the exposure and review rather than further exfoliation.Inferred from adjacent evidence[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[7] NHS. Contact dermatitis. Reviewed 3 May 2023. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Frequently asked questions#
What should be checked before booking?
The intended outcome, current skin condition, recent procedures and the actual device-and-product combination. A useful consultation identifies these before describing a course of treatment.[1, 2, 6]iSelection should establish the surface appearance goal, skin condition, relevant allergies and recent procedures, exact cartridge/material, compatible products and manufacturer instructions before proceeding.Inferred from adjacent evidence[1] Dermalogica. Pro NanoInfusion trade brochure, revision marked 12–22. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Can the same pen perform microneedling and nanoinfusion?
Some can. Dermalogica’s Pro Pen is one documented example with separate needle and nano cartridges, so the cartridge and intended action need to be identified for each service.[2]Dermalogica's Pro Pen manual distinguishes needle cartridges, a Nano Metal stainless-steel cone cartridge and a Nano Silicon cartridge; the pen body alone does not identify which service is being performed.Directly tested by the source[2] Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
Should a client mention a reaction to a previous serum?
Yes. A history of product or metal allergy can change selection, and persistent or recurrent reactions may need clinical assessment to identify the cause.[6, 7]iThe manufacturer lists inflammation, itching and burning as possible reactions to its combined nanoinfusion service; cosmetics or metals can separately provoke contact dermatitis, and persistent/recurrent/severe symptoms need medical assessment.Inferred from adjacent evidence[6] Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4[7] NHS. Contact dermatitis. Reviewed 3 May 2023. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4
References#
Each source is graded by evidence tier. Tier 4 material (manufacturer documents, expert consensus, practitioner experience) is useful for protocol and context, and is never presented as equivalent to independent clinical evidence.
- Dermalogica. Pro NanoInfusion trade brochure, revision marked 12–22. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4Supports: Named manufacturer's description of nanoinfusion/nanoneedling as a surface service using a pen and non-penetrating stainless-steel cones with professional skincare; intended cosmetic goals and service components. Not proof of class-wide clinical effects.Funding / interest: Dermalogica promotional and professional training material; manufacturer-authored, not an independent clinical study.
- Dermalogica. Pro Pen training manual. Revision 30 November 2022. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4Supports: Distinct needle, Nano Metal and Nano Silicon cartridges; named-system NanoInfusion contraindications, pregnancy/nursing medical-clearance advice and need to check local scope. This is a retrieved revision, not a claim that no newer instructions exist.Funding / interest: Manufacturer-authored Dermalogica training document. Contraindication advice is attributed to this system rather than treated as a clinical incidence study.
- US Food and Drug Administration. Regulatory Considerations for Microneedling Products: Guidance for Industry and Food and Drug Administration Staff. 10 November 2020. Sections III–VII.Tier 1Supports: US classification considers intended claims, design, sharpness and penetration into living skin. Non-living stratum-corneum exfoliation distinguished from effects on living tissue; aesthetic-device classification excludes transdermal product delivery. Not UK practitioner licensing.Funding / interest: US regulator guidance, explicitly containing nonbinding recommendations; not a clinical study or manufacturer efficacy endorsement.
- Brzozowska JM. Fractional nanoneedle mesotherapy as an alternative to fractional microneedle mesotherapy in skin face revitalization—own experience. Polish Journal of Cosmetology. 2020;23(1):62–69. Polish article with English publisher abstract.Tier 3Supports: Three people over 30 years, facial treatment series in a cosmetology centre; study conducted September–December 2018. Abstract reports visual/palpation improvement and satisfaction, but no improvement in corneometric hydration. Device, products and individual follow-up duration not established from retrieved abstract.Funding / interest: Author affiliated with the treating LabEstetico cosmetology centre. Funding and conflicts not stated in the personally retrieved publisher abstract; no claim of manufacturer sponsorship or independence.
- Dermalogica New Zealand. LuminFusion. Undated manufacturer service page. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4Supports: Manufacturer reports a 30-participant study of a combined exfoliation, nanoinfusion and LED service, with luminosity percentages through seven days; no full study methods or confidence intervals supplied on the page.Funding / interest: Manufacturer's own reported study and commercial service page. Investigator identity, funding detail and conflicts beyond this commercial provenance not provided.
- Dermalogica. LuminFusion trade brochure. Undated PDF, hosted August 2023; accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4Supports: Combined treatment components, product-specific contraindications/precautions, possible inflammation/itching/burning and gentle-care/photoprotection advice. Not a controlled safety study.Funding / interest: Manufacturer-authored promotional and professional-use document; no independent adverse-event dataset supplied.
- NHS. Contact dermatitis. Reviewed 3 May 2023. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4Supports: Irritant/allergic reactions to substances including cosmetics and metals, avoiding the trigger, emollient care and GP assessment for persistent, recurrent or severe symptoms. General care, not nanoneedling incidence evidence.Funding / interest: NHS patient information; no product sponsor stated. Not a formal evidence-graded clinical guideline; displayed review-due date had passed.
- Department of Health and Social Care. The licensing of non-surgical cosmetic procedures in England: consultation response. 7 August 2025. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 1Supports: England-only licensing development and procedure-classification work; response itself is not an operative practitioner licence or a final classification of nanoneedling.Funding / interest: Official government policy response; not a clinical study.
- Scottish Ministers. Civic Government (Scotland) Act 1982 (Licensing of Non-surgical Procedures) Order 2026. S.S.I. 2026/87, articles 3–6 and schedule 1 paragraph 6.Tier 1Supports: Scottish definitions include non-RF microneedles puncturing skin to less than 1.5 mm; licence not required under the Order before 6 September 2027, with transitional provision and exclusions. Actual procedure matters, not its trade name.Funding / interest: Primary Scottish legislation; not a clinical study.
- Welsh Government. Licensing scheme for special procedures. Updated 30 July 2026. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 1Supports: Welsh mandatory licensing guidance names acupuncture, body piercing, electrolysis and tattooing; not a general nanoneedling permission or classification.Funding / interest: Official Welsh regulatory guidance; not a clinical study.
- Northern Ireland Assembly. AQW 41857/22–27, non-surgical aesthetic procedure licensing. Minister of Health answer, 1 April 2026.Tier 1Supports: No current departmental plans for a broad non-surgical cosmetic licensing scheme in the remaining mandate at the time of the answer; not exemption from existing obligations.Funding / interest: Official parliamentary answer; not a clinical study.