Only a handful of places left for our September 2026 cohort. Applications close soonApply now →

Mandelic acid

Also known as: alpha-hydroxybenzeneacetic acid, 2-hydroxy-2-phenylacetic acid

Mandelic acid is an alpha-hydroxy acid used in exfoliating skincare and professional chemical peels. It has been studied for facial acne, selected pigment concerns and skin texture, both alone and in combinations. The formulation, treatment setting and person's skin determine the relevance of those findings.

In plain English Mandelic acid is an exfoliating skincare ingredient that helps shed surface skin cells. Small studies of professional peels have reported improvements in acne and some pigment concerns. Choosing it means considering the whole product and the person's skin, as well as the acid's name.

Evidence status

Emerging

Small comparative studies; formulation-specific findings. Mandelic acid has encouraging short-term clinical findings, including randomised peel comparisons. Evidence differs between single-acid peels, combination peels and leave-on products; a result from one cannot establish the performance of the others.

What mandelic acid is, and the forms in use#

Mandelic acid is an alpha-hydroxy acid, or AHA. Chemically, it is 2-hydroxy-2-phenylacetic acid, an aromatic molecule with a molecular weight of 152.15 g/mol. In skincare it is used as an exfoliating ingredient, helping the surface shed skin cells.[1, 2, 6][2, 4, 6, 7]

Three forms of use appear in the clinical literature: a single-acid professional peel, an acid blend, and a leave-on cosmetic formulation. Examples studied include 45% mandelic peels for facial acne, 30% mandelic peels for periorbital pigmentation, and 20% salicylic/10% mandelic combination peels. These identify the research formulations; they are not recommended starting strengths.[2, 3, 4, 5, 6]

The subject here is the ingredient, its evidence and its formulation distinctions. Assessment and conduct of the procedure are covered in the chemical-peels guide. The direct comparison with lactic acid is shared evidence between the two ingredient entries, not a separate claim about all AHAs.

Use of mandelic acid in aesthetic practice#

Mandelic acid is considered where exfoliation is relevant to the client’s goal: for example, surface texture or a selected acne or pigmentation presentation. The consultation establishes which concern is being addressed, the present condition of the skin, products and medicines already used, previous treatment response and the person’s priorities.[7, 8, 9]i

Cosmetic support can sit alongside medical care. For active acne, NICE’s treatment and referral pathway remains the clinical framework; choosing an acid does not replace assessment of the condition. Similarly, identifying whether pigmentation represents melasma, a post-inflammatory mark or another problem comes before selecting a peel. See acne vulgaris and hyperpigmentation for those separate decisions.[8, 9]i

Professional peeling requires competence in assessment and complication recognition. Applicable procedure requirements and the exact product’s instructions need to be considered through the chemical-peel pathway; an ingredient reference is not an operator authorisation.[7, 8, 9]i

Contraindications and cautions#

Known allergy to a constituent excludes the product. Active infection, inflammatory skin disease and a currently irritated treatment site require assessment before elective resurfacing. The 30% mandelic/lactic trial excluded people with constituent allergy, active infection or inflammatory dermatoses, as well as those using photosensitising medicines; its findings concern that screened population.[3, 8]i

Pregnant and breastfeeding participants were also excluded from that trial. This is a boundary of the evidence, not evidence of fetal harm and not an assurance of safety. A pregnancy or breastfeeding question needs assessment of the actual product and proposed procedure by an appropriate healthcare professional.[3, 8]i

Previous pigment changes after inflammation or procedures matter, particularly when treating darker skin. A peel can itself provoke dyspigmentation; consent and selection need to account for that possibility.[3, 8]

Photoprotection belongs in AHA and peel care. FDA advice is class-level guidance, with its cited human UV experiment studying glycolic, not mandelic, acid. Sun-protection advice is appropriate, but a numerical glycolic-acid UV-sensitivity result should not be presented as a measurement made on mandelic acid.[7, 8]

Clinical uses and the evidence behind them#

Facial acne

Dayal and colleagues randomised 50 Indian patients with mild-to-moderate facial acne to 45% mandelic or 30% salicylic peels. Over 12 weeks, both groups improved, with no statistically significant difference in overall Michaelsson acne-score improvement. The abstract reports fewer adverse effects with mandelic, and different lesion-pattern responses: salicylic favoured non-inflammatory lesions and mandelic inflammatory lesions. The accessible report supplies neither numerical subgroup effect estimates nor participant ages or phototypes, so those details cannot be assumed.[2]

Combination work adds another strand. In 44 Indian patients with facial acne and post-acne pigment/scar concerns, a 20% salicylic/10% mandelic blend produced greater improvement than 35% glycolic in most active acne lesions and hyperpigmentation after six fortnightly sessions, with fewer adverse effects. The study reported P<.001 for both comparisons. This is evidence for the named combination.[4]

Periorbital melanosis

The direct lactic comparison enrolled 70 adults, mean age approximately 27, with pigmentation around the eyes. Thirty-five were assigned to each 30% peel; 61 completed, with final assessment at six weeks. Both groups improved on pigmentation grading. For the table’s investigator-rated threshold of more than 30% improvement, results favoured lactic: 15/30 versus 6/31 with mandelic, P=.012. Satisfaction was 30/30 versus 26/31, P=.011.[3]

Final pigmentation-grade distributions did not significantly differ between groups. Thus the positive result favouring lactic relates to particular improvement and satisfaction endpoints, not superiority on every measure. This short, self-funded trial concerns periorbital melanosis rather than melasma; it supports the same indication-specific comparison discussed in the lactic-acid entry.[3]

Melasma

A randomised study of 90 Indian patients, 30 per arm, compared 35% glycolic, 20% salicylic/10% mandelic and a phytic-acid combination. All groups received hydroquinone/tretinoin priming before their peel courses. Pigmentation scores improved in all groups by 12 weeks; glycolic and the salicylic/mandelic blend performed better than the phytic combination, without a significant difference between those two active groups, P=.876. Follow-up continued to 20 weeks.[5]

The intervention was a combined treatment programme in diagnosed melasma. Its place in longer-term care is considered in melasma; the study does not turn a cosmetic mandelic product into an equivalent regimen.

Texture and age-related skin quality

Jacobs and Culbertson studied their own facial mandelic formulation in 24 people aged 42–68, 20 women and four men, over four weeks. Lower-eyelid instrument measurements of elasticity and firmness improved from baseline. This is a useful early signal for that formulation. The accessible abstract describes no control group and gives no acid concentration; the authors’ developer involvement also matters when assessing transfer to another product.[6]

Selecting mandelic acid#

Selection is strongest when the clinical question matches the available comparison. The facial-acne study supports considering its tested mandelic peel as a tolerable option relative to the tested salicylic peel. The periorbital study gives a different comparison: irritation was more frequent with mandelic than lactic, while lactic produced more exfoliation. Mandelic is therefore not the automatically gentlest choice for every indication or person.[2, 3]i

The practical unit of selection is the whole formulation: which acids are present, concentration, pH, vehicle and intended use. FDA’s AHA guidance identifies these formulation variables as contributors to exfoliation. The same ingredient name can appear in products designed for quite different exposures.[2, 4, 6, 7]

Current skin condition, previous peel response, tendency to pigment change, co-existing medicines and the proposed treatment site complete that assessment. Published concentrations describe the study, not a transferable protocol for another brand or client.[7, 8, 9]i

Adverse effects and their management#

Mandelic-peel trials report irritation, redness, swelling and exfoliation. The wider chemical-peel complication set includes infection, pigment alteration and scarring. These are procedure-level possibilities; a small study with mostly mild events cannot quantify every rare complication.[3, 8]

Persistent or worsening symptoms should prompt review by the responsible practitioner or clinician. Suspected infection, delayed healing or substantial pigment change requires clinical assessment before further elective acid treatment.[3, 8]

A suspected chemical burn or chemical eye injury requires immediate medical help. NHS guidance treats these as injuries requiring urgent assessment, not routine peeling discomfort. The chemical-peel service should have an established emergency pathway; this ingredient page does not replace it.[10]

Referral and scope boundaries#

Medical review is important for uncertain diagnoses, deep or nodulocystic acne, acne causing scars or persistent pigment changes, significant psychological distress, or inadequate response to treatment. NICE provides the relevant acne pathway.[8, 9]i

An uncertain focal pigmented or keratotic lesion should be assessed before cosmetic resurfacing, rather than treated as ordinary uneven tone. Persistent or atypical change after a peel also needs assessment. The diagnostic question belongs to the appropriate clinician; choosing a different acid is not a substitute.[8, 9]i

For an aesthetic practitioner, documenting the treatment goal, products and medicines, previous reactions and referral decision provides useful continuity. Broader pigment diagnosis and acne management remain with their condition entries rather than being duplicated here.

Mechanism of action#

Mandelic acid belongs to the AHA group used to promote surface exfoliation. The result depends on both the molecule and the formulation in which it is delivered. Acid concentration and pH interact with the other ingredients rather than acting as isolated product descriptors.[2, 4, 6, 7]

Formulation research illustrates this distinction. In excised pig skin, LG Household & Health Care researchers compared free mandelic acid with a mandelic/carnitine ion-pair complex. Under selected conditions at pH 4.5, the complex released more corneocytes. This was manufacturer-authored laboratory work on animal tissue; it demonstrates an experimental formulation effect, not a human comparison of peel comfort.[11]

Clinical improvement in acne or pigmentation is a separate endpoint from that exfoliation assay. It is the human study of the named formulation and condition that supports those clinical claims.[2, 3, 4, 5, 6]

Commonly misstated claims#

Molecular mass and penetration

Claim heard:“Twice the molecular mass means exactly half the penetration”

Literature finding:Mandelic acid’s molecular weight is 152.15 g/mol and glycolic acid’s 76.05 g/mol.[1, 2, 6] Those chemical values are not a measured human penetration ratio. No controlled human-skin comparison measuring mandelic versus glycolic penetration under matched formulation conditions was located.[no source found]

Supported statement: Mandelic acid is the larger molecule; an exact comparative human penetration rate or depth remains unverified here.

Elasticity and collagen measurements

Claim heard:“The elasticity study measured a 25.4% increase in collagen”

Literature finding: The 2018 study reported a 25.4% increase in a lower-eyelid Cutometer elasticity measure, P=.003, and 23.8% in firmness, P=.029, after four weeks.[6]

Supported statement: These are changes in measured mechanical skin properties, not percentages of new collagen or wrinkle removal.

Pigmentation scores and patient responses

Claim heard:“The melasma study cleared 60.98% of patients”

Literature finding: That number was the reduction in MASI pigmentation score for the salicylic/mandelic arm at 12 weeks. The programme included hydroquinone/tretinoin priming.[5]

Supported statement: The combined programme reduced a pigmentation score; the percentage does not describe how many people cleared.

Areas of remaining uncertainty#

  • Durability: the periorbital study ended at six weeks and acknowledged that recurrence could not be assessed adequately. The practical consequence is to distinguish early improvement from a lasting solution.[2, 3, 5, 6]i
  • Transfer to everyday cosmetics: the peel studies and developer-authored facial-product study test different preparations. Product-specific evidence is needed before promising the same outcome from another formulation.[2, 3, 5, 6]i
  • Which clients benefit most:small studies and incompletely reported age/phototype subgroups limit precise prediction. Individual skin history and a clear diagnosis remain more informative than a blanket “for all skin types” label.[7, 8, 9]i

Frequently asked questions#

Which details make a product comparison useful?

Useful comparisons start with the intended concern and treatment setting, then the full formulation, pH, concentration and other active ingredients. A study on a single-acid peel, a salicylic/mandelic blend and a leave-on serum answers a different product question in each case.[2, 4, 6, 7]

What should be discussed before considering a peel?

The skin concern, current medicines and skincare, allergies, prior reactions, previous pigment changes and expectations all contribute to assessment. The chemical-peels guide covers the procedure discussion.[7, 8, 9]i

References#

Each source is graded by evidence tier. Tier 4 material (manufacturer documents, expert consensus, practitioner experience) is useful for protocol and context, and is never presented as equivalent to independent clinical evidence.

  1. National Center for Biotechnology Information. PubChem compound summaries: mandelic acid, CID 1292; glycolic acid, CID 757. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 4Supports: Physicochemical properties personally retrieved through PubChem PUG REST: mandelic acid C8H8O3, molecular weight 152.15 g/mol, IUPAC 2-hydroxy-2-phenylacetic acid; glycolic acid 76.05 g/mol. Reference chemistry only, not measured skin penetration, comparative tolerability or clinical efficacy.Funding / interest: US NCBI/NLM chemical reference database; not a manufacturer clinical study.
  2. Dayal S, Kalra KD, Sahu P. Comparative study of efficacy and safety of 45% mandelic acid versus 30% salicylic acid peels in mild-to-moderate acne vulgaris. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2020;19(2):393–399. doi:10.1111/jocd.13168. PMID:31553119.Tier 2Supports: Primary abstract retrieved through Europe PMC and directly from Wiley. Fifty Indian patients with mild-to-moderate facial acne, randomly allocated to the two named peel formulations, six sessions over 12 weeks. Similar overall Michaelsson-score improvement; abstract reports salicylic advantage for non-inflammatory and mandelic advantage for inflammatory lesions, with fewer adverse effects with mandelic. Full original methods, age distribution, phototypes, numerical effect estimates and funding were not accessible.Funding / interest: Not stated in the retrieved abstract/publisher abstract page. Academic affiliation does not establish absence of commercial involvement.
  3. Malviya A, Shrivastava S, Pancholi S, Hassanandani T, Kumar V, Dhakad JS. A Prospective Study Comparing Clinical Efficacy of 30% Mandelic Acid Peel Versus 30% Lactic Acid Peel in Periorbital Melanosis. Indian Dermatol Online J. 2025;16(6):916–920. doi:10.4103/idoj.idoj_1051_24. PMID:41051381.Tier 2Supports: Complete primary article personally read, including Tables 1–2 and exclusions. Seventy adults randomised 35/35, mean ages approximately 27; three sessions and final assessment week 6;61 completed. VAS threshold >30% improvement:15/30 lactic versus 6/31 mandelic, P=.012 in Table 2; satisfaction 30/30 versus 26/31, P=.011. Final POM-grade distributions did not significantly differ. Abstract instead prints P=.001 for pigmentation superiority; full-table endpoint is retained. Irritation 28.6% mandelic versus 14.3% lactic; exfoliation 5.7% versus 14.3%.Funding / interest: Methods describe the study as self-funded; funding statement says Nil and authors declare no conflicts. Patients paid routine outpatient charges and post-procedure prescriptions.
  4. Garg VK, Sinha S, Sarkar R. Glycolic acid peels versus salicylic-mandelic acid peels in active acne vulgaris and post-acne scarring and hyperpigmentation: a comparative study. Dermatol Surg. 2009;35(1):59–65. doi:10.1111/j.1524-4725.2008.34383.x. PMID:19076192.Tier 3Supports: Primary abstract personally retrieved through Europe PMC and publisher. Forty-four Indian patients with facial acne, scarring and pigment changes;35% glycolic versus 20% salicylic/10% mandelic, six sessions at fortnightly intervals. Combination had greater improvement for most active acne lesions and hyperpigmentation, P<.001 each, and fewer side effects. No random allocation specified in retrieved abstract, so classified clinical-study rather than RCT. No isolated mandelic arm.Funding / interest: Funding and conflicts not stated in the retained abstract access; no claim of independence.
  5. Sarkar R, Garg V, Bansal S, Sethi S, Gupta C. Comparative Evaluation of Efficacy and Tolerability of Glycolic Acid, Salicylic Mandelic Acid, and Phytic Acid Combination Peels in Melasma. Dermatol Surg. 2016;42(3):384–391. doi:10.1097/DSS.0000000000000642. PMID:26859648.Tier 2Supports: Primary MEDLINE abstract retrieved directly through Europe PMC. Ninety Indian participants randomised 30/arm;35% glycolic,20% salicylic/10% mandelic, or phytic combination; all groups first received four-week hydroquinone/tretinoin priming. Treatment assessed 12 weeks, follow-up 20. MASI decrease 62.36%,60.98%,44.71%, respectively; glycolic versus salicylic/mandelic P=.876. Reported percentages are score reductions, not proportions cleared. Age/phototype distributions and full funding statement were not available.Funding / interest: Funding and conflicts not reported in the retrieved primary abstract. Priming co-intervention disclosed in prose.
  6. Jacobs SW, Culbertson EJ. Effects of Topical Mandelic Acid Treatment on Facial Skin Viscoelasticity. Facial Plast Surg. 2018;34(6):651–656. doi:10.1055/s-0038-1676048. PMID:30513536.Tier 3Supports: Primary abstract and PubMed conflict statement retrieved directly. Developer-authored study of 24 people,20 women/four men, aged 42–68, using a facial formulation for four weeks. Cutometer measurements on lower-eyelid skin: elasticity+25.4%, P=.003; firmness+23.8%, P=.029. Abstract does not describe a control group, disclose acid concentration or provide a collagen-biopsy endpoint. Full article not retrieved.Funding / interest: Authors reported no conflicts in the retrieved PubMed declaration, but explicitly state that they developed the tested formulation. Funding was not stated in the retrieved record; developer involvement is disclosed in the body.
  7. US Food and Drug Administration. Alpha Hydroxy Acids. Cosmetic ingredient information. Accessed 16 September 2026.Tier 1Supports: Complete official page read. AHA exfoliation depends on acid identity, concentration, pH and other ingredients; recommends photoprotection and respecting label directions. The cited human UV study is glycolic acid, not mandelic. Used for class-level formulation/caution principles, not mandelic-specific UV percentages or UK cosmetic law.Funding / interest: US FDA regulatory information; its description of the CIR panel identifies that panel as industry-sponsored. No CIR concentration limit is transferred to mandelic acid here.
  8. Oakley A, Elghblawi E. Chemical peels. DermNet. Updated October 2018.Tier 4Supports: Complete clinical reference read. Assessment, pigment-change risk, treatment-depth distinctions, complication recognition, including infection and scarring, and prompt medical review. Its procedural instructions and international operator descriptions are not imported as a UK protocol or legal rule.Funding / interest: DermNet named-author reference; no article-specific funding/COI declaration found on the retrieved page, which displays advertising.
  9. National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1Supports: Complete live recommendations personally retrieved in the same research session. Acne assessment, first-line care and specialist referral for diagnostic uncertainty/severe patterns and consideration where scarring, pigment change, distress or inadequate response occur. Not a procedure-licensing source.Funding / interest: NICE institutional guidance; individual committee declarations were not re-audited.
  10. NHS. Acid and chemical burns. Last reviewed 5 June 2024.Tier 4Supports: Complete official page read. Suspected acid/chemical burns require immediate medical help and hospital assessment; injuries involving eyes are an emergency. No treatment recipe is reproduced in the entry.Funding / interest: NHS institutional public-health guidance; not a manufacturer study.
  11. Jeon H, Park N, Won JG, Shin YW, Choi J, Park SW, Son NS. Enhancement of Exfoliating Effects through the Novel Cosmetic Ingredient Mandelic acid_Carnitine Ion-Pairing Complex. Skin Res Technol. 2024;30(6):e13788. doi:10.1111/srt.13788. PMID:38881052.Animal studyTier 3Supports: Primary full text read through PMC HTML and Europe PMC XML, including methods, results, conclusion and disclosures. This entry uses the excised-porcine-skin experiment: mandelic/carnitine ion-pair complex released more corneocytes than free mandelic acid under selected conditions at pH 4.5. Paper also contains separate uncontrolled human cosmetic evaluations, not used here as evidence for ordinary mandelic products or sensitive skin.Funding / interest: All seven authors were affiliated with LG Household & Health Care R&D. Paper declares no conflicts but has clear manufacturer authorship; no separate funding declaration located. Manufacturer involvement is explicit in prose.