Benzoyl peroxide
Also known as: BPO, BP
Benzoyl peroxide is a topical acne medicine that reduces acne-associated bacteria and helps clear blocked follicles. It is available in several formulations, alone or combined with other acne medicines. Its place in care depends on the acne pattern, the particular product and skin tolerance.
In plain English — Benzoyl peroxide is a medicine for acne that helps reduce bacteria and blocked pores. It can be used on its own or in prescribed combinations that tackle acne in more than one way. Choosing a suitable product includes considering how well the person's skin tolerates it.
Evidence status
Moderate
Guideline-supported acne medicine; comparative certainty varies. Benzoyl peroxide has established medicinal and guideline-supported roles in acne care. A large Cochrane review found low-certainty evidence for several patient-reported comparisons; the particular formulation, combination and outcome remain important when interpreting a result.
What benzoyl peroxide is, and the forms available#
Benzoyl peroxide, often abbreviated BPO, is an antiseptic medicine used for acne. It reduces acne-associated bacteria and helps clear obstructed follicles. Products include leave-on gels and preparations that are washed off; some are formulated for the face, while others include the chest or back. The product’s own indication and instructions establish its intended use.[3, 4]Benzoyl peroxide is a topical antiseptic acne medicine with antibacterial and keratolytic effects; it helps reduce acne-associated bacteria and blocked follicles.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[4] NHS. Benzoyl peroxide. Patient medicine information. Last reviewed 7 September 2026.Tier 4
It is supplied both as a single active and in fixed combinations, meaning two or more medicines are formulated together. Examples include adapalene/BPO and clindamycin/BPO. These combinations have distinct clinical roles rather than being interchangeable versions of an ordinary cosmetic exfoliant.[3, 4, 5]BPO medicines include leave-on gels and wash-off preparations, alone or in fixed combinations. Indications, body sites, ages and supply classifications attach to the particular product: Acnecide 5% Gel is a Pharmacy medicine, whereas Epiduo is prescription-only.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[4] NHS. Benzoyl peroxide. Patient medicine information. Last reviewed 7 September 2026.Tier 4[5] Galderma (UK) Limited. Epiduo 0.1%/2.5% Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 17 October 2024; emc updated 18 November 2024.Tier 1
Supply status is also product-specific. Acnecide 5% Gel is listed as a Pharmacy medicine, whereas Epiduo adapalene/BPO gel is prescription-only. An ingredient name alone does not establish the status or suitability of the product containing it.[3, 4, 5]BPO medicines include leave-on gels and wash-off preparations, alone or in fixed combinations. Indications, body sites, ages and supply classifications attach to the particular product: Acnecide 5% Gel is a Pharmacy medicine, whereas Epiduo is prescription-only.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[4] NHS. Benzoyl peroxide. Patient medicine information. Last reviewed 7 September 2026.Tier 4[5] Galderma (UK) Limited. Epiduo 0.1%/2.5% Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 17 October 2024; emc updated 18 November 2024.Tier 1
Use of benzoyl peroxide in aesthetic practice#
The useful starting point is the person’s existing acne care: the lesions present, treatment already prescribed or purchased, what has improved, what remains troublesome and how comfortable the skin feels. A skincare professional can recognise that a client is using an acne medicine, support compatible skincare and help them seek a pharmacist or clinician’s review where appropriate.[1, 3, 5]iAcne pattern and severity, treatment history, tolerability, medicines already used, pregnancy plans and the licensed formulation inform selection. A non-prescribing skincare practitioner can support a clinical plan without independently changing a prescription.Inferred from adjacent evidence[1] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[5] Galderma (UK) Limited. Epiduo 0.1%/2.5% Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 17 October 2024; emc updated 18 November 2024.Tier 1
NICE includes BPO-containing combinations among first-line options and BPO alone as an alternative in selected circumstances. For a non-prescribing practitioner, helping someone understand that plan is distinct from changing its medicines. The complete treatment pathway belongs to acne vulgaris; the focus here is BPO’s particular contribution.[1]NICE includes fixed adapalene/BPO among first-line acne options, fixed clindamycin/BPO for mild-to-moderate acne, BPO alone as an alternative when other options are contraindicated or a person wishes to avoid retinoids/antibiotics, and selected BPO maintenance.Directly tested by the source[1] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1
Contraindications and cautions#
Hypersensitivityto the active ingredient or another component excludes that product. Acnecide’s product information also cautions against application to damaged skin and contact with the eyes or mucosa. Existing irritation, eczema-like changes and other active treatments therefore need to be identified before an additional aesthetic intervention is considered.[3]Acnecide gel excludes hypersensitivity and cautions against damaged skin, mucosal/eye contact and cumulative irritation from peeling, abrasive or other drying treatments.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1
Pregnancy and breastfeeding
BPO alone and BPO combined with a retinoid need separate decisions. NHS information says BPO can usually be used during pregnancy with professional advice. Acnecide’s manufacturer SmPC is more conditional: use only when clearly needed, drawing on preclinical findings and accumulated clinical experience. That is a clinically useful basis for an individual assessment, not a pregnancy trial proving zero risk.[1, 3, 4, 5]NHS says BPO can usually be used during pregnancy with professional advice; Acnecide's SmPC restricts pregnancy use to when clearly needed, relying on preclinical data and clinical experience rather than presenting a pregnancy RCT. Adapalene/BPO is contraindicated during pregnancy or planned pregnancy.Directly tested by the source[1] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[4] NHS. Benzoyl peroxide. Patient medicine information. Last reviewed 7 September 2026.Tier 4[5] Galderma (UK) Limited. Epiduo 0.1%/2.5% Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 17 October 2024; emc updated 18 November 2024.Tier 1
By contrast, adapalene/BPO is contraindicated during pregnancy and when planning pregnancy, because it contains a topical retinoid. The presence of BPO does not remove that restriction.[1, 3, 4, 5]NHS says BPO can usually be used during pregnancy with professional advice; Acnecide's SmPC restricts pregnancy use to when clearly needed, relying on preclinical data and clinical experience rather than presenting a pregnancy RCT. Adapalene/BPO is contraindicated during pregnancy or planned pregnancy.Directly tested by the source[1] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[4] NHS. Benzoyl peroxide. Patient medicine information. Last reviewed 7 September 2026.Tier 4[5] Galderma (UK) Limited. Epiduo 0.1%/2.5% Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 17 October 2024; emc updated 18 November 2024.Tier 1During breastfeeding, seek product-specific advice and prevent the infant contacting treated skin, including avoiding application to the breast; Acnecide’s information states that milk excretion is unknown.[3, 4]BPO breastfeeding decisions need product-specific professional advice and avoidance of infant contact, including application to the breast; Acnecide's SmPC states milk excretion is unknown and risk cannot be excluded.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[4] NHS. Benzoyl peroxide. Patient medicine information. Last reviewed 7 September 2026.Tier 4
Other treatments and products
Peeling agents, abrasive products and additional drying acne preparations can add irritation. A licensed fixed combination is designed and assessed as a product; it does not authorise improvising a stack of separate medicines or adding an exfoliating procedure to already irritated skin. For a client using prescribed treatment, changes should be agreed with the responsible clinician or pharmacist.[3]Acnecide gel excludes hypersensitivity and cautions against damaged skin, mucosal/eye contact and cumulative irritation from peeling, abrasive or other drying treatments.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1
Clinical uses and the evidence behind them#
Active acne
NICE includes fixed adapalene/BPO for acne of any severity, with additional systemic treatment where the pathway requires it. Fixed clindamycin/BPO is an option for mild-to-moderate acne. BPO monotherapy is an alternative when the other listed options are contraindicated, or when someone wishes to avoid a retinoid or antibiotic. These are choices within clinical assessment, not a requirement that every person with acne receive the same medicine.[1]NICE includes fixed adapalene/BPO among first-line acne options, fixed clindamycin/BPO for mild-to-moderate acne, BPO alone as an alternative when other options are contraindicated or a person wishes to avoid retinoids/antibiotics, and selected BPO maintenance.Directly tested by the source[1] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1
In the 2020 Cochrane review, BPO may have increased patient-reported improvement versus placebo or no treatment over 10–12 weeks: risk ratio 1.27, 95% confidence interval 1.12–1.45, from three trials with 2,234 participants. Certainty was low. This measured perceived improvement, not the proportion completely cleared. The review covered acne on the face or trunk; 50 included trials had industry funding and 63 did not report funding.[2]Cochrane found low-certainty evidence of increased patient-reported improvement with BPO versus placebo/no treatment: RR 1.27, 95% CI 1.12–1.45, three trials, 2,234 participants, 10–12 weeks. The endpoint was reported improvement, not complete clearance.Directly tested by the source[2] Yang Z, Zhang Y, Lazic Mosler E, Hu J, Li H, Zhang Y, Liu J, Zhang Q. Topical benzoyl peroxide for acne. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2020;2020(3):CD011154. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD011154.pub2. PMID:32175593.Tier 1
Antibiotic-containing treatment and maintenance
NICE advises against either topical or oral antibiotic monotherapy for acne and against combining a topical and an oral antibiotic. BPO-containing options form part of that wider antimicrobial-stewardship approach. The decision includes the whole regimen and its review, rather than simply adding another active to an antibiotic indefinitely.[1]NICE advises against topical or oral antibiotic monotherapy for acne and against combining topical and oral antibiotics; BPO-containing combination options sit within that wider stewardship pathway.Directly tested by the source[1] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1
For people who need maintenance after improvement, NICE includes selected BPO-containing or BPO-only options. Maintenance is an individual clinical decision, especially where relapse, tolerance and previous response affect the choice.[1]NICE includes fixed adapalene/BPO among first-line acne options, fixed clindamycin/BPO for mild-to-moderate acne, BPO alone as an alternative when other options are contraindicated or a person wishes to avoid retinoids/antibiotics, and selected BPO maintenance.Directly tested by the source[1] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1
Selecting benzoyl peroxide#
Selection starts with the acne pattern, the person’s priorities and the actual product: leave-on or wash-off, treatment site, licence, age suitability and any accompanying medicine. Current irritation, previous reactions, pregnancy plans and practical acceptability also matter. The percentage is only one part of that assessment.[1, 3, 5]iAcne pattern and severity, treatment history, tolerability, medicines already used, pregnancy plans and the licensed formulation inform selection. A non-prescribing skincare practitioner can support a clinical plan without independently changing a prescription.Inferred from adjacent evidence[1] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[5] Galderma (UK) Limited. Epiduo 0.1%/2.5% Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 17 October 2024; emc updated 18 November 2024.Tier 1
Mills and colleagues reported three double-blind comparisons involving 153 people with facial inflammatory acne, mean age 20, over eight weeks. Their tested 2.5% gel performed similarly to the tested 5% and 10% comparators for inflammatory lesions, with less irritation than 10%. Funding was unclear, and the later Cochrane appraisal identified methodological concerns. This supports avoiding an automatic “higher is better” assumption; it does not establish that every concentration, vehicle and combination will perform identically.[2, 6]Mills 1986 reported three double-blind comparisons involving 153 people with facial inflammatory acne, mean age 20, over eight weeks. The tested 2.5% gel had similar inflammatory-lesion efficacy to the 5% and 10% comparators, with less irritation than 10%; this does not establish equivalence of every formulation or outcome.Directly tested by the source[2] Yang Z, Zhang Y, Lazic Mosler E, Hu J, Li H, Zhang Y, Liu J, Zhang Q. Topical benzoyl peroxide for acne. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2020;2020(3):CD011154. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD011154.pub2. PMID:32175593.Tier 1[6] Mills OH Jr, Kligman AM, Pochi P, Comite H. Comparing 2.5%, 5%, and 10% benzoyl peroxide on inflammatory acne vulgaris. Int J Dermatol. 1986;25(10):664–667. doi:10.1111/j.1365-4362.1986.tb04534.x. PMID:2948929.Tier 2
Practical suitability includes packaging and storage. Follow the particular medicine’s stated conditions: for example, Acnecide 5% Gel specifies storage not above 25°C and no freezing. Product instructions, expiry and current official safety communications take precedence over generic social-media storage rules.[3]Storage and expiry requirements are product-specific; Acnecide 5% Gel's SmPC states not to store above 25°C and not to freeze.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1
Adverse effects and their management#
Dryness, peeling, burning, redness and irritant dermatitis are recognised local effects. Redness may be less apparent on darker skin, so discomfort, swelling and surface changes also deserve attention. Product information allows interruption or discontinuation when significant irritation occurs; a persistent or substantial reaction warrants pharmacist or clinical review rather than treating discomfort as the desired endpoint.[3, 4]BPO can cause dryness, erythema, peeling, burning and irritant dermatitis. Swelling/blistering or severe reactions warrant stopping the implicated product and appropriate clinical advice; suspected anaphylaxis requires emergency help. Hair and fabric bleaching is another practical effect.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[4] NHS. Benzoyl peroxide. Patient medicine information. Last reviewed 7 September 2026.Tier 4
Swelling or blistering requires stopping the implicated product and seeking advice. Suspected anaphylaxis, such as breathing difficulty or swelling of the mouth, tongue or throat, requires emergency help. Irritant reactions, allergic contact reactions and immediate severe allergy are different possibilities; their assessment should not depend solely on a photograph or the client’s label of “sensitive skin”.[3, 4]BPO can cause dryness, erythema, peeling, burning and irritant dermatitis. Swelling/blistering or severe reactions warrant stopping the implicated product and appropriate clinical advice; suspected anaphylaxis requires emergency help. Hair and fabric bleaching is another practical effect.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[4] NHS. Benzoyl peroxide. Patient medicine information. Last reviewed 7 September 2026.Tier 4
BPO can also bleach hair and coloured fabrics. Discussing this practical effect helps clients understand marks on towels, bedding or clothing without confusing them with a skin reaction.[3, 4]BPO can cause dryness, erythema, peeling, burning and irritant dermatitis. Swelling/blistering or severe reactions warrant stopping the implicated product and appropriate clinical advice; suspected anaphylaxis requires emergency help. Hair and fabric bleaching is another practical effect.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[4] NHS. Benzoyl peroxide. Patient medicine information. Last reviewed 7 September 2026.Tier 4
Referral and scope boundaries#
Seek medical assessment when the diagnosis is uncertain, lesions are deep or nodulocystic, or acne is producing scars, persistent pigmentary change or significant distress. Treatment failure also needs reassessment of the whole plan. NICE directs suspected acne fulminans into same-day urgent referral, rather than routine aesthetic care.[1]NICE supports specialist pathways for uncertain diagnosis, nodulocystic acne/conglobata, and consideration of referral for scarring, persistent pigmentary change, distress or treatment failure; suspected acne fulminans requires same-day urgent referral.Directly tested by the source[1] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1
A skincare consultation can document lesion distribution, current medicines, tolerance and the client’s concerns. Prescription selection, management of substantial reactions and systemic treatment belong with the appropriate clinician. BPO’s availability without a prescription in some products does not make every acne presentation suitable for cosmetic management.[1, 3, 5]iAcne pattern and severity, treatment history, tolerability, medicines already used, pregnancy plans and the licensed formulation inform selection. A non-prescribing skincare practitioner can support a clinical plan without independently changing a prescription.Inferred from adjacent evidence[1] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[5] Galderma (UK) Limited. Epiduo 0.1%/2.5% Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 17 October 2024; emc updated 18 November 2024.Tier 1
Mechanism of action#
BPO has oxidative antibacterial activity against Cutibacterium acnes, the bacterium formerly called Propionibacterium acnes. Its keratolytic action also contributes to reducing follicular blockage. These actions help explain its place in acne care.[3, 5]BPO's oxidative antibacterial action and keratolytic effects differ from adapalene's retinoid-receptor-mediated effects on follicular keratinisation and inflammation; this supports their distinct roles in a licensed combination.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[5] Galderma (UK) Limited. Epiduo 0.1%/2.5% Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 17 October 2024; emc updated 18 November 2024.Tier 1
Adapalene has a different target: retinoid-receptor-mediated effects on follicular keratinisation and inflammation. A licensed adapalene/BPO combination therefore brings together complementary actions in a finished medicine with its own indication and clinical evidence.[3, 5]BPO's oxidative antibacterial action and keratolytic effects differ from adapalene's retinoid-receptor-mediated effects on follicular keratinisation and inflammation; this supports their distinct roles in a licensed combination.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[5] Galderma (UK) Limited. Epiduo 0.1%/2.5% Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 17 October 2024; emc updated 18 November 2024.Tier 1
Commonly misstated claims#
Laboratory resistance experiments
Claim heard:“The antibiotic-resistance experiment treated 31 acne patients”
Literature finding:Ghannoum and colleagues’ 2025 study examined 31 bacterial strains in vitro. In serial-passage experiments, cultures exposed to clindamycin/BPO did not develop resistance under the tested conditions. Ortho Dermatologics funded the work and medical writing, and several authors disclosed manufacturer relationships.[7]An Ortho Dermatologics-funded in-vitro study tested 31 C. acnes strains and found enhanced activity of selected BPO/antibiotic formulations against less-susceptible isolates; serial-passage cultures exposed to clindamycin/BPO did not develop resistance in that experiment. This is not a human guarantee against antibiotic resistance.Directly tested by the source[7] Ghannoum M, Gamal A, Kadry A, Del Rosso JQ, Stein Gold L, Kircik LH, Harper JC. Criticality of Benzoyl Peroxide and Antibiotic Fixed Combinations in Combating Rising Resistance in Cutibacterium acnes. Clin Cosmet Investig Dermatol. 2025;18:755–766. doi:10.2147/CCID.S506254. PMID:40190474.Tier 3
Supported statement: The experiment supports a laboratory rationale for the combination, not a patient-level guarantee against resistance.
Follow-up terminology
Claim heard:“Long-term in the Cochrane review means years of observation”
Literature finding: That review defined long-term as more than eight weeks, and 108 of its 120 trials lasted no more than 12 weeks.[2]The Cochrane review defined long-term treatment as more than eight weeks, and 108 of its 120 included trials lasted no more than 12 weeks; its terminology is not proof of years of follow-up.Directly tested by the source[2] Yang Z, Zhang Y, Lazic Mosler E, Hu J, Li H, Zhang Y, Liu J, Zhang Q. Topical benzoyl peroxide for acne. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2020;2020(3):CD011154. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD011154.pub2. PMID:32175593.Tier 1
Supported statement:The review’s long-term category describes its defined treatment window, not years of follow-up.
Product-specific recall scope
Claim heard:“The FDA recalled every benzoyl peroxide product”
Literature finding: In its March 2025 US testing notice, the FDA reported elevated benzene in six of 95 tested products; over 90% had undetectable or extremely low levels. Recalls concerned specified US lots at retail level, with a separate manufacturer-tested product also recalled. The agency assessed the cancer risk from the identified levels as very low.[8]The March 2025 FDA testing notice identified elevated benzene in six of 95 tested BPO acne products, with over 90% undetectable or extremely low; the resulting recalls concerned specified US lots at retail level, not every BPO medicine or a UK-wide ban. FDA assessed cancer risk from the identified levels as very low.Directly tested by the source[8] US Food and Drug Administration. Limited number of voluntary recalls initiated after FDA testing of acne products for benzene; findings show a small number of products with elevated benzene contamination. 11 March 2025.Tier 1
Supported statement: The notice concerned identified US products and lots, not withdrawal of the ingredient class or a UK-wide ban.
Areas of remaining uncertainty#
- Which formulation best suits a particular person: comparative research varies in vehicles, concentrations and outcome measures. The practical consequence is to assess the finished product and the person’s response, rather than offer a universal percentage ranking.[2]The Cochrane authors called for better comparisons between concentrations, formulations and combination/monotherapy, with standardised patient outcomes and fuller adverse-event reporting; this limits confident universal product rankings.Directly tested by the source[2] Yang Z, Zhang Y, Lazic Mosler E, Hu J, Li H, Zhang Y, Liu J, Zhang Q. Topical benzoyl peroxide for acne. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2020;2020(3):CD011154. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD011154.pub2. PMID:32175593.Tier 1
- How consistently trials capture what matters to patients: Cochrane called for standardised patient-reported outcomes and fuller adverse-event reporting. Consultation should therefore include comfort and acceptability alongside visible lesion change.[2]The Cochrane authors called for better comparisons between concentrations, formulations and combination/monotherapy, with standardised patient outcomes and fuller adverse-event reporting; this limits confident universal product rankings.Directly tested by the source[2] Yang Z, Zhang Y, Lazic Mosler E, Hu J, Li H, Zhang Y, Liu J, Zhang Q. Topical benzoyl peroxide for acne. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2020;2020(3):CD011154. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD011154.pub2. PMID:32175593.Tier 1
- Individual tolerability before use: recognised irritant and allergic reactions cannot be reduced to the concentration alone. Prior reactions and the rest of the skincare/medicine regimen remain part of product assessment.[3, 4]BPO can cause dryness, erythema, peeling, burning and irritant dermatitis. Swelling/blistering or severe reactions warrant stopping the implicated product and appropriate clinical advice; suspected anaphylaxis requires emergency help. Hair and fabric bleaching is another practical effect.Directly tested by the source[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[4] NHS. Benzoyl peroxide. Patient medicine information. Last reviewed 7 September 2026.Tier 4
Frequently asked questions#
How quickly might someone notice a change?
Improvement develops over weeks. NHS information describes BPO beginning to work around four weeks, while NICE advises that positive effects of acne treatment may take six to eight weeks to become noticeable. These are expectations for discussing progress, not guaranteed deadlines for an individual. Worsening, substantial discomfort or inadequate progress should prompt review of the plan.[1, 4]BPO response develops over weeks: NHS describes benefit beginning around four weeks, while NICE's acne-treatment information advises that positive effects may take six to eight weeks to become noticeable. Individual review remains important.Directly tested by the source[1] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1[4] NHS. Benzoyl peroxide. Patient medicine information. Last reviewed 7 September 2026.Tier 4
What information is useful at an acne review?
Bring the actual medicine names and formulations, how the skin has responded, any reactions, other skincare being used and the changes that matter most to the person. Lesions, scarring, pigmentary change and emotional impact all inform the discussion; a percentage on the pack is only one part of it.[1, 3, 5]iAcne pattern and severity, treatment history, tolerability, medicines already used, pregnancy plans and the licensed formulation inform selection. A non-prescribing skincare practitioner can support a clinical plan without independently changing a prescription.Inferred from adjacent evidence[1] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1[3] Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1[5] Galderma (UK) Limited. Epiduo 0.1%/2.5% Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 17 October 2024; emc updated 18 November 2024.Tier 1
References#
Each source is graded by evidence tier. Tier 4 material (manufacturer documents, expert consensus, practitioner experience) is useful for protocol and context, and is never presented as equivalent to independent clinical evidence.
- National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Acne vulgaris: management. NG198. Recommendations. Published 25 June 2021; live page last updated 3 August 2026.Tier 1Supports: Personally retrieved complete live HTML on 16 September 2026. First-line options, benzoyl-peroxide monotherapy alternative, antimicrobial stewardship, selected maintenance, pregnancy restrictions, referral and compatible skincare. Clinical guidance, not a UK procedure-licensing source.Funding / interest: NICE institutional guidance. Individual committee declarations were not re-audited for this entry.
- Yang Z, Zhang Y, Lazic Mosler E, Hu J, Li H, Zhang Y, Liu J, Zhang Q. Topical benzoyl peroxide for acne. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2020;2020(3):CD011154. doi:10.1002/14651858.CD011154.pub2. PMID:32175593.Tier 1Supports: Full review retrieved, including results, GRADE, Mills 1986 study-characteristics table, funding and declarations. Search to February 2019; 120 trials, 29,592 randomised participants in 116 trials, four denominators unclear. Face/trunk acne eligibility. Self-reported improvement versus placebo/no treatment: RR 1.27, 95% CI 1.12–1.45, three trials/2,234 participants, 10–12 weeks, low certainty. Trial definitions and concentrations are not universal product rankings.Funding / interest: University support and NIHR support for the Cochrane Skin Group; review authors declared no conflicts. Among included trials, 50 were industry-funded and 63 did not report funding.
- Galderma (UK) Limited. Acnecide 5% w/w Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 26 January 2023; emc updated 2 March 2023.Tier 1Supports: Manufacturer product information: Pharmacy classification, acne indication, hypersensitivity and damaged-skin precautions, additive irritation, pregnancy/lactation, adverse effects, antibacterial/keratolytic action, bleaching and storage below or at the stated 25°C limit without freezing. These restrictions concern this product; they are not instructions for every BPO formulation.Funding / interest: Regulated product information supplied by marketing-authorisation holder Galderma (UK) Limited; not an independent clinical trial.
- NHS. Benzoyl peroxide. Patient medicine information. Last reviewed 7 September 2026.Tier 4Supports: Complete live medicine page retrieved directly on 16 September 2026. Antiseptic role, formulations, face/body product distinctions, expected gradual response, pharmacist/GP advice, pregnancy and breastfeeding advice, local reactions and emergency allergy advice.Funding / interest: NHS institutional patient information; not a manufacturer efficacy study.
- Galderma (UK) Limited. Epiduo 0.1%/2.5% Gel: Summary of Product Characteristics. Text revised 17 October 2024; emc updated 18 November 2024.Tier 1Supports: Prescription adapalene/benzoyl-peroxide product indicated for acne with comedones, papules and pustules; pregnancy/planned-pregnancy contraindication, separate mechanisms and product-specific cautions. No claim that all retinoid products share the compatibility or licence of this formulated combination.Funding / interest: Galderma marketing-authorisation-holder product information and manufacturer-reported trial summary; not an independent assessment.
- Mills OH Jr, Kligman AM, Pochi P, Comite H. Comparing 2.5%, 5%, and 10% benzoyl peroxide on inflammatory acne vulgaris. Int J Dermatol. 1986;25(10):664–667. doi:10.1111/j.1365-4362.1986.tb04534.x. PMID:2948929.Tier 2Supports: Primary MEDLINE abstract personally retrieved through Europe PMC; full original article not obtained. Three double-blind comparisons, 153 people; the Cochrane full-text extraction supplies facial site, mean age 20 and eight-week duration. Similar inflammatory-lesion response with the tested 2.5%, 5% and 10% gels; more irritation with 10% than 2.5%. Cochrane includes the studies as randomised but finds sequence/concealment unclear and important blinding/reporting concerns.Funding / interest: Not stated in the retrieved primary abstract; Cochrane lists funding unclear and conflicts not specified. Commercial independence is not established.
- Ghannoum M, Gamal A, Kadry A, Del Rosso JQ, Stein Gold L, Kircik LH, Harper JC. Criticality of Benzoyl Peroxide and Antibiotic Fixed Combinations in Combating Rising Resistance in Cutibacterium acnes. Clin Cosmet Investig Dermatol. 2025;18:755–766. doi:10.2147/CCID.S506254. PMID:40190474.In vitroTier 3Supports: Full article retrieved through Europe PMC fullTextXML after PMC browser challenge. Laboratory work with 31 bacterial isolates, not 31 treated patients. Selected combination formulations improved inhibition of less-susceptible strains; serial-passage cultures exposed to clindamycin/BPO did not develop resistance under the experimental conditions. Does not establish universal protection in patients.Funding / interest: Study and medical writing funded by Ortho Dermatologics, a Bausch Health division. Del Rosso, Stein Gold, Kircik and Harper disclosed relationships with Ortho Dermatologics and other manufacturers; Ghannoum disclosed contracts/consultancy including Bausch & Lomb. Other authors declared no competing interests.
- US Food and Drug Administration. Limited number of voluntary recalls initiated after FDA testing of acne products for benzene; findings show a small number of products with elevated benzene contamination. 11 March 2025.Tier 1Supports: Complete FDA notice retrieved directly. Six of 95 tested BPO acne products had elevated benzene; over 90% had undetectable or extremely low levels. Specified US lots were voluntarily recalled at retail level; a separate seventh product recall followed manufacturer testing. FDA assessed cancer risk from the identified levels as very low. This is a dated US product/lot event, not UK class-wide withdrawal.Funding / interest: US FDA regulatory testing and communication. No manufacturer-authored efficacy finding is used.